Packing the Shack

20140307_094002[photo credit: my four-year old]

After much trial and tribulation (or so it felt like to me), we may have found an apartment.  I put the application in last night, now we wait for approval and such.  Good thing, too, because the moving date is now next week.  WHAT.

I must give mad props to my mom, for accompanying me yesterday to look at more places and dealing with my moodiness.  When I have too much “people time”, it drains me like nothing else and I completely shut down.  So after about 2 pm, she had to endure a lot of me sitting in dead silence, just staring ahead at nothing.  By the time I got home, I just felt numb and all I wanted to do was crawl into a dark cave and hide from everything.  Introverts, you feel me?

SO, today I’m trying to packpackpack.  I always find it difficult to pack ahead of time, because there are a lot of things you still need to use up to the actual moving day (food, dishes, clothes, toiletries, cleaning supplies).  Plus, Silas has to stay in the house a week after the boys and I move out because he will still be working at an office here–so I have to be careful not to pack and/or throw away things he might need.  (I am so bad about throwing things away–it’s like an addiction.  I get a high from getting rid of things and it pisses my family members off to no end.  I can’t count how many times I’ve heard, “Hey, where is that thing that I—HEATHER, DID YOU THROW IT AWAY?!”)

 I will say though, the agreement stipulates that the house needs to be in “broom-clean condition–free of all trash and debris”–which to me means that I don’t have to work my ass off scrubbing the walls and such in hopes of getting our deposit back.  THREE CHEERS.

I hope you are all having a lovely Friday and that your weekend is full of exciting plans that don’t include tape, cardboard, or sharpies.

 

7 thoughts on “Packing the Shack

  1. Congrats if things worked out for you with the new place!

    Yup, totally feel you on the introvert thing. Usually when we go out with friends it doesn’t take long before I want to get home but my husband is the opposite and wants to keep on going all night. Compromising is really hard in those situations! He can literally go until 4am in social situations. Luckily he doesn’t expect me to. 😀

    • That’s great that he understands!! I really and truly love people but I can’t be around them for hours at a time, it just sucks all the energy out of me. Introverts unite. 😉

  2. Pingback: New Beginnings | Authentically Heather

thoughts? leave 'em here.

