Breakfast

20140302_091450

 

I love brunch on weekends.

It always ends up being brunch because I like to take things slow in the morning and don’t usually get around to making breakfast until 10 or so.

Our traditional weekend breakfast is coffee cake (this one or this one, with blueberries instead of rhubarb), but lately I’ve been in a waffle mood.

20140302_091519

 

Sometimes I’ll make a fruit compote or syrup to go on top, but often we each just do our own thing.  The boys usually eat their waffles with peanut butter and jelly.  Silas is a fan of the peanut butter + syrup combo.  I favor lemon and powdered sugar on mine, but sometimes you just can’t beat regular old syrup.

(And I mean HFCS-laden table syrup, not maple syrup.  It’s what I grew up on, it’s what I love.  Don’t judge.)

 

 

What’s your favorite weekend breakfast?  I’m always looking for new recipes.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Breakfast

  1. We have a lot of brunches around here too! (Probably like 5 x’s a week) I love syrup + cream + bananas on my pancakes or waffles, I only ever use lemon juice and sugar on crepes but maybe I’ll try that on my waffles next time!

    • I love dried cherries. I don’t know why but I’ve never been an oatmeal person. It’s so cheap and easy, I wish I liked it!! I love oats themselves, either in cookies or granola or even just sprinkled on top of things. Maybe I just haven’t learned how to make good oatmeal.

  2. These look amazing! My grandmother taught me to love waffles (and cheesecake), drenched in whipped cream and syrup. Come to think of it, I think she enjoyed her cheesecake that way too! I can’t remember the last time I had waffles. And such a lovely pic of you too 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 I hear a lot of people recommend whipped cream and berries on waffles…I don’t think I’ve ever actually tried them with whipped cream so maybe I’m missing out!

      • Oh my gosh, whipped cream on ANYTHING is amazing. And it’s great on waffles. As is ice-cream 🙂 Now I’ve just remembered the days of going to my grandparents’ house as a teenager, making coffee and squirting that super-unhealthy whipped cream (from a can!) on top! Oh, youth!

thoughts? leave 'em here.

