Greeting the Day

20140208_152057

I woke up early this morning.

It’s been extra difficult lately for me to do this, especially when I’m not in an upswing.  The earlier I wake up, the longer the days are.  So I often sleep until I hear that loud whisper in my ear.

“MOMMY.  MOMMY.  MOMMY!” [I finally stop pretending and open my eyes.]  “I’M HUNGRY.  MAKE ME BREATHRAST.”

“It’s “breakfast”.  And ask me nicely.”

Or,

“MOMMY, I PEED.”

Also nice to wake up to.  Although, when he feels inclined to do so, he can strip his own sheet and toss everything in the washer for me (and even start the laundry, if I’ll allow it).  So that is convenient.

But this morning was one of those rare ones when I rose before the sun did.  I didn’t want to at first.  It was dark and cool and both cats were snuggled up to me.  (THE BEST.)  But I forced myself to roll out of bed and greet the day.  (And let me tell you, it is so much more relaxing to get ready when two small people aren’t rifling through your makeup and your closet and chasing each other around and jumping on your freshly-made bed.)

20140211_104023

Having this time to myself in the morning, to start my day slowly, is a lovely, lovely thing.  It helps me get in the right headspace to face the day, and by the time the boys wake up, I’m ready to attend to them.

I even did some yoga this morning. (But don’t be too impressed.  It was 12 minutes.)

I used to be a naturally early riser.  It was hard not to be, growing up in a household where sleeping in until 9 on a weekend was considered a cardinal sin.  But sometime over the past few years, I joined the “sleep as late as I possibly can” team.  (Their sales pitch was pretty tempting.)

I used to love getting up early.  Well, I didn’t love the actual physical process of dragging myself out of bed at 5 am, but I loved the dark, quiet mornings when I was the only soul awake.  I have my best thoughts in the morning, and my personality type desperately needs that solitude before the bulk of the day descends upon me.

Being able to recapture that feeling today was golden.  I realize that one morning does not a habit make, but here’s to hoping I can replicate this tomorrow.

—–

 

Are you an early riser or do you like to challenge yourself by leaving as little time as possible to get out the door in the morning?

 

 

7 thoughts on “Greeting the Day

  1. I am the worst about staying in bed until the last possible moment. I have to be at work by 9, and I am typically about 5 minutes late–it doesn’t particularly matter because I still get there a good 30 minutes before my boss and no one really blows up our phone first thing in the morning, but still. I can’t imagine what would happen if I lived more than 5-7 minutes away from work. I have even started nightly rituals that will make it easier for me to sleep in… I place all my vitamins for the day into a little sandwich baggie and fill up my water bottle and put them side by side in the fridge for easy grab-and-go. I was making banana protein pancakes for breakfast there for awhile but even that was too much to manage and now I keep Belvita bars in the cabinet to take with me. I can’t even be bothered to eat breakfast at home–instead I eat it first thing upon arriving for work.

    I know in my heart of hearts I would feel infinitely better if I rose early enough to let my brain start functioning and if I started doing one of those DVD routines to stretch everything before I trudge along to my fatty-making desk job, but I LOVE BED. And that is that.

    If you weren’t so many hours behind me we could be morning-workout-text-accountability-buddies. Cruel, cruel time zone.

  2. Love it. I’m an early riser if you count 7:30 as early (which I do since my husband likes to sleep until 10 on weekends). But that’s only on weekends and I let myself get comfy with my coffee and some TV. On week days I wake up at 6 because of work, so I only allow 30 minutes to get ready before rushing out the door. Sooooo early riser naturally and challenger on work days. I’m just not willing to wake up any earlier than 6!

    • 6 used to be perfectly acceptable to me but it feels so early now! And I think my natural clock is set to about 7:30, too. Occasionally if my boys sleep in I’ll wake up around 8 but when I visit my friend out-of-state and have no obligations or children or any fathomable reason to get up, I wake up every single morning at 7:30. Even on the nights we go to bed at 3 a.m., when do I wake up? 7:30. It gets quite annoying when I actually have a chance to sleep in and can’t take advantage of it.

      • That’s funny because I’m exactly the same! No matter how late I go to bed I always wake up between 7 and 8. My husband has no trouble sleeping in after a late night which makes me a little jealous!

  3. I feel like I’m a mixture person. There are days where I really enjoy getting up early and realizing how many hours are actually in a day. Those are my super productive days where I arrange a huge meal in the crock pot and clean and exercise. Then I have lazy days where I sleep in and watch tv all day.

    I wish I could be productive every day, but I think it’s healthy to have days to completely relax and not worry about every little detail. It helps me get through the ultra productive days where I rush around pushing myself to get everything done if I think ‘tomorrow is my day off from doing all of this.’

thoughts? leave 'em here.

