Trying on the “Fun Mom” Hat

20140206_110035

Today I took the boys to the mall.  It has been quite a while since I’ve done that.

My memories of previous trips to the mall include a double jogging stroller that doesn’t always make it through doorways, two young children that felt nearly impossible to keep track of sometimes, the sounds of crying and screaming as I dragged the noncompliant little beasties all the way across the mall to the parking lot that I was hoping and praying contained our parked car…I could elaborate, but what I’m trying to say is that after multiple unhappy, frustrating, and embarrassing trips, I basically swore I would never ever (ever) take those two small people to the mall again.

But guess what?  I don’t have two toddlers any more.  I have a 3 year old and a 4 year old.  And it is nice.

Babies and toddlers are adorable and fun too, but I like having conversations (incomprehensible as they may be sometimes) with these two little people.  I like seeing their interests and personalities emerging, and I love that they get excited about things.

Today I was feeling super mellow and apparently equal to any task because I decided we should take a little field trip to the mall so I could return some mascara (Sephora I love you so much).  So we drove the 30 minutes to the mall and played in the kids’ area, wandered around, rode the elevator multiple times, explored the Lego store, and bought cookies at Paradise Bakery.

(Sugar is magical and stress-relieving.  Trust me on this.  This is what I bought the other night when some major stress descended.)

20140205_1954086 cookies and a cream cheese brownie.

We went to the park afterward for a picnic lunch (correction: we went to the park after I tried to go into what the boys dubbed with wrinkled noses a “mama store”.  I naively thought I could spend a few minutes looking at clothes but that fantasy was shattered by the two boys that started racing around the store, shrieking and now shoeless, about 2 minutes after we walked in).

A trip to the mall.  Playgrounds.  Legos.  Cookies.

I will freely admit that I am often impatient and irritated, and sometimes I wonder if that’s all I’ll ever be able to manage.

So it’s nice to know that I can be fun sometimes.

20140206_110044

—–

Do you have fun plans for the weekend?  We never do, but Fridays always put me in the mood for pizza…

 

thoughts? leave 'em here.

